The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy At the same time manufacturers are now marketing many home applianc

The argument presented in the memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company suggests that the demand for electricity in the area will not increase, and may even decline slightly, due to increasing efforts by homeowners to conserve energy and the availability of more energy-efficient appliances and home heating technologies. The argument concludes that new electric generating plants will not be necessary.

One assumption of this argument is that the efforts by homeowners to conserve energy will be successful and result in a significant reduction in electricity usage. This assumption is not necessarily warranted, as the success of conservation efforts can depend on many factors, such as the availability and effectiveness of conservation programs, the willingness of homeowners to adopt energy-efficient technologies, and the impact of other factors, such as population growth and economic development, on electricity demand.

Another assumption of the argument is that the availability of more energy-efficient appliances and home heating technologies will lead to a decrease in the demand for electricity. This assumption is also not necessarily warranted, as the impact of these technologies on electricity demand can depend on many factors, such as the cost and availability of these technologies, their effectiveness in reducing energy consumption, and the extent to which they are adopted by homeowners.

If these assumptions prove to be unwarranted, the argument that new electric generating plants will not be necessary would be weakened. In fact, if the demand for electricity increases due to factors such as population growth or economic development, or if the impact of energy-efficient technologies is less than expected, the construction of new generating plants may be necessary to meet the increasing demand for electricity.

In conclusion, the argument presented in the memorandum relies on several unstated assumptions that are not necessarily warranted. Further analysis and evidence are needed to determine whether the construction of new electric generating plants is necessary.