The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author concludes that the existing electric generation plants are adequate to meet the demands of energy in the area, and thus there is likely no need to construct additional facilities. The author comes to this conclusion based on the findings of recent surveys. Before we can assess the validity of this claim, the author needs to counter the three unfounded assumptions listed below with more evidence.

Firstly, the author assumes that the total energy consumed by the new appliances in a house will not rise significantly in comparison to the previous decade. However, there can be multiple reasons which can escalate the energy usage. It is possible that, though the new appliances are twice as energy efficient as compare to old one's, the total energy consume in a house have still risen, because the number of appliances present in the house have multiplied over the last decade. Well even if the number of household appliances has remained constant, their consumption may have risen significantly. It is also reasonable that the appliances are falsely marketed as more energy efficient to appease the consumer. If either of the above possibilities holds true then author's contention fail to hold water.

Secondly, the author assumes that the residents will readily install the new home insulation and passive solar heating technologies. Perhaps the general trend of conserving energy as observed in the survey is not followed in the area where the company does business. Or maybe, the people refrain from benefiting from these technologies due to their high cost and limited availability. It is also probable that houses cannot rely on solar energy due to the restricted sunlight available to them. Either of the above case, is likely to hinder the credibility of the author's assumption.

Lastly, the author assumes that the demand for energy in their area will not surge and is likely to decline slightly. Maybe the company has not taken into account the energy to be consumed by several factors in the near future, like newly constructed manufacturing plants that are yet to start their operations, and will require a significant amount of energy in the coming months. It is also possible that the newly constructed societies will be ready for people to move into, further raising the energy demands. Either of the above cases is likely to hinder the credibility of the author's assumption.

In conclusion, the planning might be right that there is no need to construct a new generating plant. However, as it stands now the conclusion stands on three assumptions that hinder its validity. The author needs to provide evidence for above mentioned assumptions to increase the persuasiveness of their argument