Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase.

In the given argument, author makes a statement over issue faced by commuters of Blue Highway. Author believe it is due to lack of enough widening of highway has lead to traffic congestion, thus, they further propose a solution to make a separate lane for motorists. But opponents by giving example of Green Highway suggests instead to add bicycle lane, as many area residents are keen bicyclists. Though the author tries to prove his points to certain comparisons but have lead to make some assumptions and results in loop holes in the arguments.

Firstly, author states that commuters complain about increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway. Here author has not provided us with adequate details regarding complaint survey about which author is talking about. This lead to rising of several types of questions such as Are commuters regular travelers?, Do they frequently take Blue Highway to commute?, Is the only reason for traffic congestion width of the lane? and many more. Thus, we can not accept authors statement without any strong evidence regarding complaints.

Author also tells us about statement made by opponents by giving example of Green Highway, that is due to addition of motorist lane have worsened traffic jams. The statement made by opponents are not attached with any kind of proof in argument, but it is just a vague and hallow assumption. Furthermore, we can also question that only adding motorist lane is responsible for traffic jams? Some alternate reasons can be given as rash driving of people, not enough widening of Highway, due to degrading quality of roads and many more. Also we are not provided with statistics of how frequently traffic congestion are observed currently and at what extent it is. This makes us doubtful about the statement made by opponents.

Moreover, author also tells that opponents have suggested a solution on this to add a bicycle lane as many area residents are keen bicyclist. This is really vague assumption that, if someone is bicyclist he will frequently use bicycle for commuting. This is a possibility that they use bicycle as an exercise medium and not prefer it for traveling. Also, they may ride bicycle in local area or outskirts of city and not on Highways. Also we can question the assumption about whether the people will adopt the advice given after making such bicycle lane? If not, this may lead to huge losses. So, making these kind of prediction without a proper survey is not acceptable.

At the end, author we may advice author to avoid comparison between Blue Highway and Green Highway, and focus on factors that influence Blue Highway commuters and make a proper survey document to avoid vague assumptions.