The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memorandum from the business manager describes about a change made in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. The change includes using margarine instead of butter to avoid expenses and increase profitability. The manager suggest to apply the same scheme throughout others restaurants as well by supporting with certain examples. The claims of the manager based on the given pieces of evidence seems to be weak and need more detail study before making any suggestion.

Initially, the manager tells that the southwestern United States restaurants have inculcated the change of replacing the butter with margarine. No specific statistics is provided by the manager about the above implementation. Is it the case all restaurants have adopted the change throughout southwestern? Do all the restaurants making change serve as prime contributors to profit of Happy Pancake House? Is the footfall of customers in these restaurants significant enough to affect the profitability? So, only considering a specific case for generalizing the idea of change is unacceptable.

Further, the managers tells that very few customers have complained against the change, this seems their expression for happiness. This is really vague assumption that being quite is being satisfied. There may be many different alternative possibilities that can be taken into an account - Customers were unable to distinguish between butter and margarine. It is also possible that customer have been aware about such deceitful behavior of restaurant and are tolerating or have already refrained visiting restaurant anymore. One possibility is the misplacement of the existing complaints. One can also ask about the customers being regular that are included in survey and whether they prefer butter over margarine? Therefore, before answer such huge number of questions arising the manager is not in position to suggest any further application of change.

Moreover, the manager concludes with statement to apply the same changes throughout all restaurants of Happy Pancake House for increasing profitability. This makes us aware about managers assumption of considering the change responsible for profitability of restaurant. One obiuous questions can be asked is - Is only this change responsible for increasing profit? There can be many other factors such as giving good services, increasing number of branches in favourable areas, introducing multiple exciting schemes on the purchase of items, also upgrading the advertisement methods to bring the restaurant in limelight. Thus, before consideration of all such possible factors the suggestion is not acceptable.

Finally, the only advice that can be given to manager is to revisit the claims and evidences made by him and try to make them more concrete. The application of the change throughout all the restaurant of Happy Pancake House can be acceptable only on basis of some good and appreciable points.