The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the given paragraph, author tells us that council of Maple Country is seriously concerned about development of country and thus, have suggested a measure to prevent development of existing farmland in the country. Further they are also worried about the possibility of increase in housing prices after adopting this measures and gives examples of Chestnut Country to proof the point. These statement gives us insufficient information to make any kind of conclusion or prediction. The loop holes, questionable statements and multiple assumptions has made the idea quite weak.

Firstly, author tells that council of Maple Country have suggested a measure to prevent development of existing farmland in the country. We can understand there desire to become overdeveloped country but just considering one factor may not be responsible for over all development of country. Country becomes developed when it has a good education system established, growing trade relationships, vigorous agriculture activities, employment and many more. Thus, generalizing progress based on prevention of development of existing farmland in the country is not a proper approach.

Author also put forth a possibility that although such a restriction may lead to development, but also may cause rise in housing prices. While supporting his statement, he gives example of Chestnut Country. We can see multiple questions rises on above statement made. What type of houses is author talking about? Isn't that the case that different areas of country may have different prices of houses? What are current pricing rates? Will they population not be able to afford the prices? Due to such rise of questions we can not wholeheartedly accept authors statements.

Furthermore, author while concluding makes a very vague prediction that adopting proposed measure will result in significant increase in housing price. The proposed measures may also have some positive effects as well. For example, these measure may earn a huge quantity of revenue which may help in enhancing the GDP of country. Thus, further increase in pricing in houses may not bother the population of country. Thus, direct prediction is very weak way of concluding.

Finally, while concluding we can say that the council has not been undergoing a proper survey of the consequences and thus is making vague predictions. This may also lead to hamper growth of the Country. So, must collect sufficient proof before making any decision.