Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author describes certain archaeological surveys in the above passage in which he put light on the existence of Palean baskets. He tells us that earlier it was firmly believed that Palean baskets were of origin from the prehistoric village of Palea, but from recent discoveries, the statement seems to be quite doubtful. Further he also inappropriately concludes without any solid proof that the Baskets are not of origin of Paleans. As he fails to consider all scenarios, this makes his argument weak.

Firstly, the author describes the existence of Palean baskets in the prehistoric village of Palea and makes the statement that "have been made only by the Palean people". While making such a statement, the author doesn't provide us with any specific evidence that brings us to the conclusion. Many questions arise in absence of information about the held survey such as the period in which the survey was carried out, recipients considered in the survey, reliability of sources, and many more. Making any kind of conclusion without resolving these doubts is not acceptable.

Further, the author tells us about another village across the Brim River from Palea where the traces of Palean basket were found. But, he further tells as the traces of Palean boats was not found, so, reachability to the village is doubtful. This is a vague assumption that the absence of a boat signifies unreachability. There may be an alternative explanation for this situation such as the use of dismantlable wood logs as transport, destroyed boats to cut off the connection, found of some other way to reach the village(bridge), and many more. Also, we are talking about a very ancient village, so, some evidence may have vanished. Thus, the author must not make such reef assumptions.

While concluding the author adds, these Palean baskets are found at other places they are not uniquely Palean. While making such a statement the author assumes that the object is of that origin wherever it is found. But, this can't be the case, for example, the chilly being heavily cultivated in India in current days is originated from European countries. Similarly, alternative explanations of these statements can be Paleans may have carried out trade in those days, thus, the commodity is found in different villages. It is also possible that after some time they have stopped making commodities or have adopted advanced commodities on the current one. Thus, due to the presence of such alternative solutions, the statement can't be directly accepted.

Finally, I would like to suggest the author support his statement with some more solid pieces of evidence to accept his conclusion of Baskets being not of origin of Paleans.