The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"Two studies of amphibians in Xanadu National Park confirm a significant decline in the numbers of amphibians. In 1975 there were seven species of amphibians in the park, and there were abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. One proposed explanation is that the decline was caused by the introduction of trout into the park's waters, which began in 1975. (Trout are known to eat amphibian eggs.)"

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The letter tells us about problem faced in Xanadu National Park about declining of amphibian since 1975. The author tells us about one predicted reason behind it is the introduction of trout in park's water, those are known for eating amphibian eggs. Though the letter is supported with the certain kind of study and statistical information, reaching to sudden conclusion is not acceptable till adequate number of evidence and details about study are provided.

The letters tells about some two studies of amphibians carried out in Xanadu National Park. But, with a lack of details of studies en-numerous questions raise in one's mind. One absolute sensible question can be asked is why two studies where needed? Where any kind of flaus were observed in either of studies? As the extinction of species was observed between 1975 to 2002, the author need to answer whether these studies also carried out in same time instants? Also, the main focus of study was just amphibians or all species present. Other questionable topics can be area of Park in which survey was carried, sample population of species considered and many more. Thus, without answering these questions the author is not in the state to make any further conclusion.

The stated prediction of the paragraph is the introduction of trout was one reason for declination of the amphibians as they are amphibian eggs eater. Though it matches the nature of problem, but there are more alternative reasons possible which need to be considered. One can be some other predators or potchers present became threat to lives of the species. One absolute possibility is the facilities provided by National Park are not appropriate enough for the survival of species. Also, some climate change or change of habitat may affect the lives of the species as it is the rule of nature 'survival of fittest'. Thus, the proper survey is required with considering all possibilities, before reaching any conclusion.

At an instance, the author states about the declining of species between year 1975 to 2002. But, without knowing overall picture it is not possible to reach at any specific conclusion. The assumption that the author makes is the decline is only observed in between these years only. There may be possibility that same declination rate was observed before 1975, but as survey started since 1975 these events are not recorded. This makes the situation in favour of trouts and thus, the author need to find any alternative reason behind the declination.

Finally, from overall discussion the only advice the author should follow is considered all aspect possible for declination and based on those select the most suitable reason for the extinction of the amphibians.