The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"Two studies of amphibians in Xanadu National Park confirm a significant decline in the numbers of amphibians. In 1975 there were seven species of amphibians in the park, and there were abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. One proposed explanation is that the decline was caused by the introduction of trout into the park's waters, which began in 1975. (Trout are known to eat amphibian eggs.)"

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The above letter to the editor of an environmental magazine concludes that as per the studies conducted, the decline in the amphibians species and population is mainly due to the introduction of the trout. However, it is rife with faulty assumptions like the validity of the two studies conducted, similar environmental factors spanning over several decades and amphibian eggs becoming prey to the trout.

Firstly, the letter mentions the two studies regarding the amphibians in the Xanadu National Park which confirms the significant decline in their population, but it nowhere mentions the reliability of the data being presented in these two studies. Are these the only studies conducted in the National Park or there were several hundred others studies that were conducted but these two studies were particularly handpicked to deceptively represent the significant decline in the amphibians population? If such a scenario turns out to be true, the facts presented in the letter do not hold water.

Further, the study conducted compares the amphibians population and number of species from 1975 to 2002, hence assuming the environmental conditions stayed the same across several decades. However, this might not be the case, there might be several environmental factors between the years 1975 to 2002 which might have hindered the amphibian population at the Xanadu National Park. Not only environmental, it could also be the National Parks maintenance that could have deteriorated along the years due to staff negligence or limits in the funding, etc. Such an assumption would urge one to question the methodology of the study and cast serious doubts on conclusions being drawn from it.

Lastly, the letter also mentions trout to be one of the causes for the population decline in amphibians, as the amphibian eggs can serve as food for trout. Assuming this as a possible scenario, a question might be raised. Why did it take so long around twenty-five years for the trout to hinder the amphibian growth, if they were introduced in 1975? Assuming the lifecycle of amphibians to be less than a decade, there should have been a drastic decrease in the amphibian population, after the first generations of amphibians eggs were consumed by trout. Thus trout being one of the causes of the population decline is inaccurate.

Taken a whole due to the above-mentioned explanations and limitations about the information of study, the letter is rife with flaws and seems dubious. The study in order to prove its authenticity should provide reasoning and more information for the above-provided arguments and more.