The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals.

"One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals, it is recommended hastily without any due diligence to expand the company's business and market the other low-priced food products as quickly as possible. However, there are few crucial questions that need to be answered in which the decision to sanction such a recommendation lies.

Firstly, What are the reasons the customers were quickly drawn to the low-priced Bargain Brand breakfast cereal instead of the top brands? Is there a more profound reason for abandoning long-established top brands and making a switch, like the cereal products of Bargain Brand are actually much better than the ones being sold by top brands and the cost is not a major factor for the switch? The survey is to be done in order to conclude, what is the actual cause of the switch, as such a cause might not work on the marketing of the other products if it is specifically related to cereals.

Secondly, Is the trend of customer preference of the Bargain Brand Cereals over the other top brands sustainable over a long time? Is this a temporary uptick which the company is observing and overestimating by extrapolating a similar situation in the future as well, or is it due to a temporary hiccup the top brands are facing in their manufacturing process, which will be resolved soon, resulting in them being back on track again? The time period over which the claim that top brands are not able to compete is being made is necessary as evidence. Answer to such a question is crucial because if the board of directors does go ahead with the current estimation of the recommendation and sanction it, the impact for the other products might not the same, it might even happen the cereals which are currently profitable will also lose value.

Lastly, What are the market requirements and demands for these "other food products" which the memo mentions to begin marketing? Are they similar to cereals, if not, such an extrapolation cannot be drawn from the results of marketing cereals. Such a conclusion might not lead to fruitful results in the marketing of the other food products. If the other food products were fruits, vegetables, etc. The vitality period of such products is limited as these cannot be stored for longer periods, which completely changes the decisions to be made on marketing such products versus the cereals which have a longer shelf life.

Thus, the recommendation to the board of directors must be supported by answering the above important questions and by providing more information supporting the answers. Without which the recommendation would not be much effective for the Bargain Brand Company.