When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Historical monuments like the seven wonders play a very crucial role in representing human culture. Care should be taken to preserve such a few historical monuments which have survived and stood high against many of the natural and human calamities. I would mostly disagree with the given prompt, which mentions the lands that are being currently held by the old buildings can be put to better use if modern planners use them for modern purposes, by providing below three reasons.

Firstly, the historic buildings are the living entities that preserve the different cultures which humans have experienced and lived during the past hundreds of years, decimating such structures to build the modern infrastructures and multiplexes equates to destroying the remnants of human culture. For example, if we consider the Taj Mahal, one of the seven wonders of the world, which is the symbol of love. Many people to date visit the place along with their loved ones and are able to create cherishable memories. Destroying such a monument to build a modern technology center results in voiding the people of the emotion they connected with it.

Further such historic places are not only playing important role in preserving human culture, they are also many of the popular tourist places. For example, the colosseum in Rome, The Great Wall of China, and The Pyramid of Giza represent the great feats previously achieved by humans, even with the minimal availability of the technology which they had available to them at that time. Such monuments contribute a significant amount of revenue to the government with minimal investment in their maintenance. Therefore before one decides to destroy such monuments and create modern infrastructure he/she should consider the cost factors involved. If modernizing the place would cost more, we would be better off maintaining the existing buildings.

Lastly, there might exist some historic buildings which not be of significant importance in history, culture, or tourist interest. The monuments which did not completely survive the history or which were not properly preserved. Such monuments by considering the usefulness factors could be replaced with modern infrastructure, where the land could be put to better use. Such a decision should be taken only after careful consideration weighing the pros and cons such as, is the place restorable, if restored do people visit it, or can the place be put to better use if apartments are built over it.

In conclusion, historical monuments are to be given high importance as they contain the culture embedded in them, but if any of the historic buildings are impeding the growth of a modern plan which outweigh the advantages of having a historic building a decision can be taken to replace it.