The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Modern technological advancements have revolutionized the world as we know it from a century ago. Compared to the thousands of years of human history, much of the technological advancements have occurred in a very short period of time. Yet the impact they have had on the human lifestyle changes is very appreciable. I mostly agree with the prompt which mentions the primary goal of technological advancements is to free people up from the mundane tasks, so that they can pursue their interests, by providing the three below explanations.

As recently, we experienced one of the deadly pandemics in human history, COVID-19, a virulent virus causing the deaths of many people which spread like a wildfire. When such a situation demands people to stay in seclusion, avoid contact with the outer world, the primary source of information comes from the media, like television internet, etc. Such technological innovations have helped mankind stay safe and productive in their houses simultaneously being aware of the recent updates about the disease. Such a situation also demands adaptability from the workers to be able to work from home by avoiding going to the office(especially in jobs related to software engineering), thus avoiding hours of time which they otherwise would have spent on commute. However, working from home also comes with its own difficulties, like decreased communication with colleagues, trouble in keeping abreast of the topics currently going on in the work environments, etc.

Secondly, the internet as we know it today has interconnected places on earth and has made information free to access to everyone. One can get information at a click of a button about the opportunities, career guidance, or the ongoing events in any part of the world, which when compared previously would have been an arduous task. By making information easier to access now people can focus on the goals they wish to achieve rather than investing their time gathering relevant information which would help in their decisions. But what one chooses to do with such a technology is entirely dependent on the person, he may choose to take advantage of the information to acquire the required skills, or use it for fraudulent purposes to scam people of their personal data.

Lastly, technology can also be used for corrupt reasons which can have many detrimental effects. For instance, if we consider "enigma" a technology machine used during world war 2 to encrypt the messages of the attack position, which helped germans send messages faster, be able to communicate with ease and reduced much of the time which they would otherwise have spent transferring messages through spy. Even though the technological invention was not done with any harmful intentions in mind, it does not prevent a person from using it for such purposes.

In conclusion, technological advancements may be both useful and deleterious at the same time. Yes, they do provide us with the choice of using it for the betterment of our lives maybe it for efficiency or automating the mundane tasks. But the real use and the intention of the use of technological tools lies with humans.