Requiring university students to take a variety of courses outside their major fields of study is the best way to ensure that students become truly educated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Modern-day education has undergone many iterations and currently provides tremendous flexibility for the students to pursue their interests. Universities currently before accepting students try to match the student's goals and intentions with the facilities being provided by them, thus ensuring the students get the best opportunities to learn. I mostly disagree with the prompt which mentions the universities making the courses outside their majors mandatory, even though the intention of such a requirement is for good of the student it may do no good than harm, by providing the below three reasons.

Firstly, a student currently studying in university has applied to a particular major field of study as he has previously researched his areas of interests, went through a process of eliminating the fields which would not impact or which are not a great fit for the abilities he possesses. If universities make it mandatory for the student to take a course in another major field that might not be of interest to the student, then the student in the first place might reconsider his decision to apply for such a university. This may result in the university losing potential students and also tarnish its reputation.

Secondly, what does truly educated actually mean? Does it mean a student should be skilled in many different areas, or does it actually mean becoming an expert or gaining mastery in a niche field? The answer is crucial, as a student who aims to excel in programming, if the university makes it mandatory for such a student to take a course in literature, biology, history, etc will it actually help him in any way? The answer would be no, as it takes away most time which he could have better benefited from learning programming concepts. However, if the student intends to work on areas like machine learning which used natural language processing concepts, learning literature would actually help him understand his area of study more profoundly.

On the contrary, however, it is not always the case that all the students currently studying in the university have it all figured out, the area they want to pursue or their goals per se. For such students it would actually be helpful if they could explore various areas of majors outside their fields, looking if other fields pique more interest than the one which they are currently admitted into. However, such an outcome could also be achieved by universities by not making the courses mandatory but still providing the flexibility for the students to switch their majors according to their interests when required.

In conclusion, in the best interest of the universities and the students, it would be better if the university doesn't make mandatory requirements for students studying in one major to take courses in another. As most of the students at the university level would already have it figured out, on the other hand, if universities could provide the flexibility for the students who want to make a switch or explore other avenues it would be most effective in students becoming really educated.