Requiring university students to take a variety of courses outside their major fields of study is the best way to ensure that students become truly educated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

University is one of the highest steps one takes to get fully educated. In fact, university is studying a broad bunch of subjects outside major field in addition to the main focus. The prompt recommends that college students take a variety of courses outside their major fields of study. In my opinion, I agree with this suggestion and argue that these extra subjects are for several reasons and complete a person’s academic formation.

Firstly, every student that goes to university usually has to take extra subjects which are not very related to his/her major field of study. Thus, this might help to boost the education in every conspectus. For example, non native speakers that go to college, take writing, reading and more which helps them overcome the barriers of language and culture. These extra subjects are like bricks on a wall that need cement to stick together. Consequently, it is helpful to have some extra information from other parts and not only ones’ majors. However, decades ago students had to take much more extra subjects which prevented them from focusing on major subjects. The above example illustrates that taking extra subjects only helps students feel confident and complete regarding their formation.

Further, even if we assume that some of them might think that they will never need that extra information, for example of philosophy for someone that studies computer-technology, one should still study hard and read, read, read. For example, reading refreshes knowledge and makes a person culturally and academically rich. Research has shown that when people are young their brain is more optimized for learning. In other words that is the time to learn some extra information.

In conclusion, to be truly educated students in universities need to take those extra courses because it softens the big change from high school to college. In addition due to globalization, people are going to different countries to study and those language and culture barriers need to be softened. If they do not do so, they are likely to have a hard time acquiring information and skills from mayor subjects. College is the place where young adults get prepared to face life having a profession.