The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology is not only boon but also bane for everyone at the same time. Now-a-days, technology keeps on changing (perhaps advancing) every single day. Yesterday’s ‘new’ technology has become ‘old’ today. The prompt states that the most imperative objective of the technology advancement should be to enhance the efficacy of people so that they can get more free time to complete other things. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the statement and suggest that the primary goal of all the achievements in the technology should increase leisure time of people for two main reasons.

First of all, the rise and advent of ‘Internet’ has made the lives of people very much easy. Not only people get more time to spend with their loved ones but also that time can be utilised to complete some other important works. For instance, online ticket booking of buses, trains, flights and so on has reduced the time which was used to go their respective stations and book the tickets. Furthermore, with the help of e-commerce companies like Amazon, Bestbuy and so on, people can buy anything, anytime and be present anywhere with the help of Internet and mobile phone. The above examples prove that so much of time can be saved or which in-turn increases the leisure time of people.

Secondly, technology advancements in smartphones have surged a lot of time for people. With the implementation of ‘Voice assistant’ and ‘Internet of things’ everything has become so easy and simple. For example, voice assistants like ‘Siri’ or ‘Google assistant’ are so advanced, that they produce almost 99 percent accurate results and there is no need to unlock your phone. By just saying ‘Hey Siri’ on Apple devices the Siri wakes up and any person can any question and it will answer with in seconds. Companies like Samsung has mastered the IoT. Many Samsung devices like televisions, refrigerators, washing machines, air conditioners are all connected with a app in the smartphone and they can be controlled with the help of a smartphone; like to swich on or off or maybe to do a specific task can be done and even monitored in the smartphone itself.

Of course, some argue that with so much of things or works can be completed or managed with the help of smartphone and by staying in our comfort, it makes people apathetic and physically weak. To avoid these problems, companies have implemented some features in which they will alert a person who is using phone for long time also some gadgets which will not turn off unless it is physically turned off. Therefore, even people need to understand that everything should be done in moderation and at their own cost.