An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia — the scent of lavender flowers — has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument which concludes that lavender flowers, an ancient traditional remedy cures insomnia within a short period of time is rife with flawed assumptions like the 30 people involved in the study are representative of the entire population, 3 weeks is sufficient enough time to observe the impact of the study and there might are no other external factors affecting the study.

Firstly, the study concludes that the 30 people considered for the study to observe the effects of lavender scents on insomnia are representative of the entire human population, which might not be the case. The data considered for such a small set of people might not give very reliable results as the people themselves might be facing some of the other difficulties affecting their sleep like anxiety or fear due to some of the life experiences which they are currently going through. This indicates that in order to get more reliable data more than 30 people are needed to be included in the study of various different characteristics, ages, and gender mix.

Secondly, the study does not mention any pieces of evidence as to why the volunteers were taking the medication in the first place, did they have permanent insomnia or it was due to transitory situation because of the difficulties they were facing in the life. If latter was the case, the study claiming that lavender curing the insomnia in short time does not hold water, as the volunteers themselves are going through the insomnia for a shorter period of time.

Lastly, the study does however, mentions about the controlled room, but does not provide the evidence about the degree of control it has on the room or the different factors that are under control. This raises another question what if they are other factors affecting the volunteer's sleep and in turn corrupting the study’s purpose. External factors can be various like tiredness, stress and workload of the volunteers affecting their sleep. Do all of the volunteers exercise, if some exercise are they being treated differently when considering their sleep schedule, all this information is crucial as ignoring any of these factors(also given the smaller volunteers size of 30) will lead to easier corruption of the study’s purpose.

To Conclude the people who have conducted the study need to provide the information regarding the above three issues raised and ensure none of the external entities would not affect or give a chance to tamper with the study’s result, which in turn would strengthen its argument.