An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia — the scent of lavender flowers — has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

The scent of lavender is pleasant for sure but it is being endorsed here as a quick cure for insomnia. Certain statistics were shared regarding a closed study which was made to support the argument. However there seems to be several unanswered or perhaps unjustified claims and details regarding the study. If the below points were considered and their reason was explained that would have maybe made the argument compelling.

Firstly, it is stated that an ancient and traditional remedy for insomnia is the scent of lavender. Yet, there is no supporting details regarding to when was the ancient period referred to or even to which tradition is being considered. This statement would have made more sense if some for form of details like maybe ‘from the Indian tradition of 1800s’ something is found true. If the statement was written this was it would have added more weight to the argument.

Secondly, it seems like some study was probably done and some observations that were made during the study were presented. There are several aspects of the study that seems unwarranted and even questions the validity of the study. Primarily the study is conducted only with 30 volunteers which is a rather smaller group to study with for a claim this big. In addition to that it was also said the participants were using their sleep medication during the study at least for a period of a time so it cannot be sure if their sound sleep was due to their medication or to the scent. Because of this, it effectively brings down the study to just two weeks. In that said two weeks when the sleep medication was stopped it was said the participants slept less soundly when the medication was not used. This claim it self bring the concern to ask the question of what are the effects of the controlled environment on the volunteers.

Finally, lack of details on the environment and the day to day tasks of the volunteers do not add to the arguments gain. As it was said in the by the third week they were able to get some sleep for longer duration it remains unclear if that was due to the volunteers being kept in dark rooms with out any activities or something else.

The study would have been more meaningful and complete if the above concerns were addressed and perhaps even if the study was done in the volunteers usual daily routines and homes. Then the argument would have be more appealing and convincing to the readers.