Competition for High Grades Seriously Limits The Quality of Learning at All Levels of Education

Knowledge is consumed differently by every individual. We can not appropriately measure every one’s ability in a single or standardized manner. Hence the grades which are used as the metric to measure one’s potential have become more important in the present day. The grands have gained such prominence that sometimes it’s okay if a student can achieve a good grade even if they are unable to apply or related the subjects they are studying. This doesn’t mean that every one attain good grades do not have enough potential, it’s the competition that’s deteriorating the quality of education.

Less than 1/5th of the people or organizations actually consider all the aspects of a student’s progress to deem a certain university or a college is good. Most of the times the deciding factor usually would be the the percentage of students who have achieved higher grades in a particular college. Even for a job interview the initial screening process itself involves filtering of the candidates based on their grades. This doesn’t even give the individual a chance to even prove themselves.

Due to these higher expectations from everyone around it is common for students to take pressure in achieving higher grades. It is because of the pressure they tend loose track of the sole purpose of why they are even studying in first place. Most of them do not even think they should be learning the subjects to apply them in real life rather than just to learn them to get a better grade in exam.

The society around has also created a false sense of achievement that only better grades mean successful individuals. To fulfill these expectations and to be the so called ideal or successful student, the main focus would be just to get a better a grade. Because of this the true purpose of education which is to gain and acquire knowledge is somewhere lost in the woods.

The understanding of the people has to change and synonymously the way to estimate one’s ability must be more holistic and comprehensive so that students actually focus on being better and improve the quality of knowledge they absorb rather than sweating out for better grades. I’d like to conclude by saying only when a true freedom is given to fail anyone can actually aspire to learn and succeed.