The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The president of Humana University in the above memorandum describes the profit acquired by Omni University due to introduction of online degree programs. The president further proposes to adopt the online degree program for Humana University sooner to increase enrollment and reduce maintenance cost. This kind of prediction are not acceptable without taking in consideration all factors responsible for profit.

The president while telling about Omni University describes how more online enrollment has reduced maintenance expenditures for dormitories and classroom space. While making such a vague statement the president does not consider other costs that have part in the University budget. The online program essentially requires following expenditures - Internet connectivity, Wireless router devices, Wired Lan Cables, High usage of Electricity, High-end compatible display devices and others. Moreover, the online degree need to ensure that each enrolled student is able to connect the internet, have provision of offline material and if not, the university must be held responsible to provide all such facilities. The president is not in a position to comment on the budget of the University before gathering details about all these possible expenditures.

The president indirectly predicts that increment in total enrollment is mostly due to the attraction of the online degree program. This prediction has not been supported with any solid proof. The alternative factors that can responsible be for increment in enrollment can be the reputation of university, teaching faculty of university, research work carried out in university, various student welfare schemes introduced by university, QS University ranking of University, fee waiver programs as well as stipends along with prizes offered by university and others. The president emphasizing the importance of online degree program over all these factors seems to be unfair in total enrollment contribution.

Moreover, the presidents also predicts that the online degree program will also resolve the budget problems of the University. It is really illogical prediction made by the president. The cost requirement in future can not be analysed based on present conditions. It can be the case, due to the COVID-19 pandemic the students prefer online degree program, but it is also possible that in future the student may give the offline program the more preference. In such case, the cost for infrastructure and facilities such as electricity, instruments, teaching materials and others will act as addons to the currently predicted budget. Thus, the president must consider all possible situation and then carry out estimation of cost for the university budget.

Finally, the only suggestion the president need to follow is to undergo thorough study of all factors of Omni University responsible for their profit as well as losses. Also, without making any prediction must consider some legitimate factors to plan the future budget of university.