The following appeared in an article in the Grandview Beacon.

"For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview

Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200

percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The

symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Given such

developments, some city commissioners argue that the symphony can now be fully self supporting, and they recommend that funding for the symphony be eliminated from next

year's budget."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in

order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based

are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to

evaluate the recommendation.

The city of Grandview has been promoting art and culture by sponsoring symphony in the city. Lately, there has been an increase in extrinsic provenance for the symphony. Because of this increment, some commissioners suggest that the symphony should not be funded by the city again. While this might be true, the argument does not prove this. The argument is based on truancy of quantification, unjustified assumption and lack of consideration for other factors, which all impairs the commisioners’ conclusion.

Citing an increase in private contribution and symphony attendance, the commissioners assume that these are enough to sustain the symphony. This might not be the case. The argument, which was based on percentages and terms, needs to present real numbers. How much is th real increment? What was the initial number of the private contribution and people’s attendance? Is this increment substantial enough to conclude that the symphony can rely on it for its existence? Without answers to these questions, the argument will remain blemished.

Going further, while mentioning increase in ticket prices, these commissioners assume that the increase will sufficient for the upkeep of the program. The might not be true. The symphony has recorded a surge in number of attendants. Hence, with rising participants comes increase onus. Does the increment cater for increased in security? Or perhaps it caters for paraphernalias, which might have increased due to increased attendants. Thus, the commissioners need to show how the new ticket fee will be spent before concluding that ticker fee is also enough for the symphony to survive on.

Lastly, relying on increased income, the commissioners suggest that the symphony is now self-supporting. We do not know if the city’s funding caters for quorum of the symphony’s expenses. Are these extrinsic funds, which are mentioned earlier, enough to care for all the symphony’s expenses? Will withdrawing the city’s fund not undermine the symphony’s existence? Without answers to these questions, the argument will remain vitiated.

In conclusion, due to the increase in Grandview symphony’s revenue, some commissioners suggested that the city should halt funding of the program. This recommendation was based on weak grounds, which all seems to debilitate the commissioners’ recommendation. Therefore, the city should continue funding the symphony. Else, the symphony might be cause to fold up if there is withdrawal of the city’s funding.