A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Should a nation require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college? Some believe the education governing body of a country should enforce all its student to take the same national curriculum while some believe this is a dangerous act that should not be allowed to happen. Although, requiring all students to study the same national curriculum is beneficial to some extent, the disadvantage of this act outshines the advantage.

Some believe requiring student from elementary level to tertiary level to study the same national curriculum across all states provides student with fundamental knowledge required to become reasonably informed and productive member of the society. This is true to some extent as this national curriculum will ensure student are taught basic skills required to survive. But on the other hand, it tends obliterate cultural diversity. Studying the same national curriculum prevent the student from being taught the core knowledge of their culture. This is dangerous for students as it will alienate them from the culture which they were supposed to be inured with.

Furthermore, requiring student to study the same national curriculum facilitates the dissemination of propaganda as courses, programs and materials that present topics which go against the authority of the government will be occluded. However, some can argue that studying the same national curriculum provides school administrators with foundation upon which curricula are set for freshmen. This is true to some extent. But as this act provide school faculties with the bases upon which to set curricula, it simultaneously gives the overall education body to remove courses that go against a government authority due to the education body biased nature as the body will tend to set approve materials, programs and courses that are in favour of the government.

Additionally, requiring student to study the same national curriculum prevents the inclusion of courses, materials and programs that of local significance. Since the whole system will be controled by the national education board, local education boards won’t be afforded the opportunity to include local programs and subjects -such as subjects of local languages - they see fit into the programs. This will have an adverse effect on the student as pupils will not be taught main facts upon which their environment was built.

In conclusion, requiring all student of a country to study the same curriculum is parlous as there are several disadvantages attached to it. For example, it thwarts the inclusion of programs that of regional significance, it facilitates the dissemination of propanganda as it will allow government to be biased with the programs and courses that will be released to the student. Also, it erase cultural diversity as student across the country will be taught the same knowledge, thereby leading to gradual declination of cultural knowledge among upcoming generation. Thus, student should not be required to study the same national curriculum but to study regional curriculum so as to gain more knowledge about their society