Several recent studies have shown a link between health and stair usage. One recently completed study shows that people who live in stairs-only apartment buildings (that is, buildings without elevators) live an average of three years longer than do people who live

in buildings with both elevators and stairs. A second study shows that elderly residents of buildings with elevators make, on average, twice as many visits to doctors each year as do residents of buildings without elevators. Furthermore, several doctor's offices are

reporting that residents of stairs-only buildings scored higher than average on questionnaires administered to new patients, in which the patients were asked to rate

several aspects of their own health (e.g., fitness, sleep quality, susceptibility to injury, etc.). The clearest explanation for these findings is that the moderate daily exercise required of residents who must use the stairs instead of elevators increases people's health and longevity.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument

The argument that residents of stairs-only buildings do exercise daily by using the stairs – which leads to inproved health and long life - than residents of elevator buildings makes numerous unwarranted assumptions regarding the assumption that stair usage is the only form of exercise these people could do, ignoring the bases of the studies and how the studies were conducted, and ignoring the stairs-only building residents’ lifestyle which might have contributed to their increased health. Taken as a whole, these unstated assumptions render the argument highly suspect. Indeed if these unstated assumptions do not hold true, the argument totally falls apart.

Firstly, the author assumes people who live in stairs-only apartment live longer than people who live in stairs and elevator buildings. This is flawed bacause the author assumed all the people in the stairs and elevator building uses elevators and the author also assumed all the elevators in these buildings are functioning. Nothing in the argument indicates if these elevators are operating or whether all the residents of these buildings actually uses these elevators regularly. Moreover, the residents of stairs and elevators buildings might not be much inclined to use elevators but stairs. Unless it is found that residents of stairs and elevator buildings prefer elevators to stairs, the argument is invalid.

Secondly, the author failed to determine how the studies were carried out. What were the bases of the studies? How many people and buildings were studied when conducting these research? How many people responded truthfully? When was the studies carried out? How many story buildings were studied? To corroborate this argument, the author needs to provide answers to these questions and other related questions to the studies.

Thirdly, the author assumes using the stairs is the only form of exercise residents of both stairs-only buildings and stairs and elevator buildings can engage in. This weakens the argument because nothing in the argument states whether the residents of stairs and elevators building do not exercise. Moreso, it wasn’t stated in the argument that residents of stairs only buildings used their stairs on a regular basis.

Lastly, the argument fails to consider other factors that could have led to the long life and improved health of stairs-only building residents. These residents might consume balanced diet on a regular basis than residents of elevators building. Thus, in order to prop this argument, the author needs to take into consideration other factors that led to longevity and improved health of stairs-only residents.

In conclusion, the argument that residents of stairs-only buildings do exercise daily by using the stairs than residents of elevator buildings makes a number of unstated assumptions that seriously weakens it validation. Unless these unstated assumptions are addressed, the argument totally falls apart. Thus, the author might be making a major mistake by assuming the use of stairs is connected to people’s health and longevity.