Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

What is the impact of formal education on human minds and spirits? Does this tool intended, to enlighten human, restrains human minds and spirits or does formal education emancipates the mind and spirit? Though, to some people, formal education is the best tool to set the mind free, while some other people feel education is harmful to human as it restrains the minds and spirit. Formal education however, sets the minds free rather restrain them.

How will the world be without formal education? Most people will live ignorantly, not knowing what is going in their environment. Formal education has helped to set the minds and spirits free by making obscure facts about earth known to human. For instance, biology eradicated the old belief that sickness was as a result of imbalance in humor. With the present of knowledge of tissues, organs and DNAs, human have learnt important lessons that sickness is as a result of human activities and not an imbalance in humor.

Furthermore, formal education frees the mind from fanciful or unproven notions. For example, geography has helped dismissed the old notion that the earth is the centre of the universe and that the earth has a flat shape. With different articles and signs to corroborated this fact, formal education is able to free the mind rather than restrain it. Another example include the knowledge of sonar system which the blind bats uses to navigate and catch prey. By analysing the reverberation of the sound emitted by bats, bats are able to determine the specie, size, distance and direction of its prey. Without education, this knowledge will not have been possible.

On the other hand, some might argue that formal education restricts one to one form knowledge. That is, a medical doctor hardly possess knowledge of other field that does not relate to medicine, an engineer rarely have knowlede of fields that does not pertain to engineering. This is true to some length. Truly, formal education makes one incognizant of other field, but this effect has been beneficial has it tends to make a person an expert in his or her field. Apart from this, formal education makes it easier to switch from one career to another as the important quality of all career is the ability to read and write and to be able to communicate effectively and without formal education, these qualities can not be achieved.

In summary, formal education frees the minds and spirits rather restrain them. Many mysterious facts about the human surrounding have been decoded with the aid of formal education and formal education has helped in making career switch convenient for humans. Thus, formal education is a great tool in helping man to understand his environment.