The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and neglect negative ones

Humans are wired to behave in two ways: the good way and the bad way. While a quorum of the former is praised through encomiums, public recognitions, presentation of award plaques, a lot of the latter which the perpetrators are meant to be scolded are overlooked. Looking into the society, the exultation of good behaviours has led other students to mimic these behaviours, thereby proliferating good acts in the society. this is also the same with pecadilloes that are ignored. Children imitate these acts, thereby increasing it conduct on a diurnal basis, and this is having detrimental effect on the society. Hence, while positive actions are to be continually praised, negative ones should never be looked.

Looking at the contemporary society, good behaviours such as getting high grades, assisting the weak and many other good characters are celebrated through gift endowment, scholarship and other good forms of acknowledgement. But misdemeanors such as kids throwing tantrums and bullying are basically ignored. While these might seem benign, they pose dangerous threat to our society such as kids becoming intransigient adults that are mostly to become miscreants. Punishing children with bad acts help check these acts from their childhood days, thereby helping to breed well-behaved students in the society.

At the national level, beneficence such as good governance and large altruism acts are acknowledged through public recognition, national awards and conferment of national titles. These praises stimulates the younger generation to emulate these good acts. Thus, increasing the amount of positive actions conducted in the society. On the other hand, miscreants are punished by either public opprobrium, long-term incarceration and demotion from public offices. Imagine these retributions are not put in place to qualify these acts; these bad actions will definitely be replicated everywhere. Ergo, making the society insufferable for the quotidian citizen.

On the contrary, some might quibble that it is pointless wasting time and resources in rebuking pecadilloes. This might be true to some extents as most negative actions excused seems to pose little to no threat on the society. But let us look at the long-term effect of overlooking these acts. The long-term effect of overlooking Osama Bin Laden’s actions led to the procreation of a national anarchist who caused the deracination of innumerable lives on September 11, 2001. Au contraire, the effect of correcting these bad acts as led to the society begetting prominent citizens such as Barrack Obama, Denzel Washington and George Bush.

In summary, good acts should always be praised and bad actions should never be ignored. While the long range effect of praising good actions is seen in the world today, the effect of ignoring bad actions is also seen in the amount of miscreants in the society.