Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students – like people in general – prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

Most times, college students face serious problem in selecting the courses they will do in each semester. The prompt addresses this problem. The prompt claim that colleges and universities should make all required courses specified to students and eliminate elective courses for clear guidance for the students. This claim is based on the premise that students prefer to follow specified route rather than self-decision. I mostly agree with the claim that colleges and universities should make all core courses specified to student and remove the elective courses for the stated reason. However, there are other reasons why elective courses are to be eliminated and university required courses to be specified. Moreover, it is in a way advantageous if elective courses are not eliminated and student allowed to choose not only from the core courses but from the elective courses also.

Generally, people are more guided when directions are provided. This is applicable to college students. They prefer having their core courses spelt out as they see this to properly guide them. For example, a first-year college students tend to get confused in choosing the courses to be offered simply because they have no idea of which one is best fit for their goal. Another example is an engineering student, who knows little about the field, he will prefer the courses required to be stated rather than him choosing on his own. Due to the two examples cited, people find it preferable to follow the specified courses that are require.

Other than the reason provided above, college students find it more fulfilling when they do the courses that are related to their field. In other words, doing elective courses from other fields make student feel as if their time is being wasted. For example, a mathematics student, who has natural love for numbers would be happy to see the required courses like geometry, calculus and more rather than seeing courses like history, literacy and government. Also, it can be traced to our early scientist such as Albert Einstein, Charles Darwin and more, were evident through their results that they were fulfilled and they enjoyed what they were doing. This can be traced back to the colleges, they did not do any courses aside sciences. Therefore, to enjoy learning and be fulfilled, elective courses should be eliminated and core courses should be specified.

However, specifying all required courses while elective courses are eliminated is not the best in all cases, as this can limit students who are interested in other courses that are outside their field and thereby limit their productivity. For example, Mark Zukerberg, the founder of Facebook who happens to have his field in Tech, got the idea of facebook when he offered an elective course in sociology. Given students the opportunity to choose the courses they will offer, help them to be vast and increase their productivity.

In conclusion, while colleges and universities should specify all required courses for students, they should be flexible in eliminating elective courses as this will make student not to be limited.