The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

There have been a debate on the initial step to self knowledge. Some believed that accepting the familiar is the very first step of self-knowledge while some other people argue that it is the opposite - rejecting the familiar. The recommendation presented in the prompt addresses this arguments. I mostly agree to the recommendation - self-knowledge begins with rejecting what is familiar with the following three reasons.

To begin with, acquiring knowledge require learning new things. In other words, there is no knowledge gained if one have not learnt something new, especially what you are not familiar with. For example, a university student who is studying mathematics may not be familiar with calculus, the student would need to accept the fact that there is need to devote time in learning the topic even though he is not familiar with the topic before. Another example is a farmer who is not familiar with mechanized method of farming. This farmer will not acquire such knowledge until he accept it with the fact that he is not familiar with the method. The two examples given above proves that in acquiring knowledge, the first thing to do is to accept the unfamiliar while you reject the familiar. This will give room to learning something new.

Furthermore, in other to be focus in gaining knowledge, what you are familiar with need to be rejected. Of course there are many things to learn. If someone who is gaining knowlege in his own, want to learn fast while focus,, then what he is familiar with need to be looked away from. For example, a statistician who is cognizant of probability theory needs to focus more on something else which he is not aware of, then this is what make him a learned statistician.

It will be unfair to neglet the fact that rejecting the familiar might lead to negleting important thing. For example, a key board player might think he is familiar with a particular key on the keyboard whereas it is just an assumption. By so doing, he lacks knowledge on that key just because he negleted it.

In conclusion, the very first stage of self-knowledge begins with rejection of the familiar bearing in mind that important once are not rejected.