According to an independent poll of 200 charitable organizations, overall donations of money to nonprofit groups increased last year, but educational institutions did not fare as well as other organizations. Donations to international aid groups increased the most (30 percent), followed by donations to environmental groups (23 percent), whereas donations to educational institutions actually decreased slightly (3 percent). Meanwhile, all of the major economic indicators suggest that consumer spending is higher than average this year, showing that potential donors have ample disposable income. Therefore, the clearest explanation for the decline in donations to educational institutions is that people actually value education less than they did in the past.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the above memo, the author argues that people value education less than they did previously. The author supports his argument based on the report of economic indicators, which states that despite having ample amounts of disposable money potential donors tend to donate more to the other nonprofitable institutes. Furthermore, the author argues that though the amounts of donations to international aid groups and environmental groups increased significantly, donations to educational institutes decreased to rectify his argument. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three unstated assumptions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author argues that donations to educational institutes did not increase significantly based on the report of 200 charitable organizations. But the author does not provide how many educational institutes of 200 charitable institutions actually responded to the poll. There is a possibility that only 5 educational institutes responded to the poll then, concluding on the basis of very small sample size is fictitious to a certain extent. If the above scenario is true then the author’s argument holds no water. If the author is able to provide more necessitate evidence perhaps in the form of a statistical data chart of each type of charitable institute then one can evaluate the author’s argument properly.

Secondly, the author uses percentages to justify his argument that donations to environmental and international aid groups have increased. A percentage is a tricky situation, without the absolute number given one can not conclude anything from only a percentage. The author argues that donation to international aid has increased by 30 percent whereas donations to educational institutes decreased by 3 percent. Suppose previously donations to international aid were 10000 per annum and yearly donations to the educational institute were 5000000 dollars. Then donations to the educational institutes were deceased 150000 dollars whereas donations to international aid increased by only 3000 dollars. Then one can not argue that international aid’s getting more amount of donations than educational institutes. The author must include the number of donations of each individual organization to strengthen his argument.

Thirdly, the author states that though potential investors have ample disposable amounts to donate, they are most likely less interested in donating to educational institutes without any justifiable evidence. There is a possibility that in a recent economic recession the government increased tax revenue on donations significantly, then any potential investor may not want to donate to any charitable institute. Maybe educational institutes are dependent on government-based donations and the government spends a significant amount of money on educational institutes. If any one of the above scenarios is true then, the author's argument is built unreliably. If the author can provide more admissible evidence perhaps in the form of a statistical data chart regarding all the sources of donations of each institute then, it will be possible to evaluate the author’s recommendation.

In the conclusion, the author’s argument that stands now is seriously flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can elucidate the three assumptions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study ) then, it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that people value education less than they did previously.