The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the above letter, the author states that in order to balloon students’ safety Centerville high school should require to mandate a mandatory driving program for all of its students. The author supports his argument based on the premise that over the past two years the number of accidents involving teenager was increased around Centerville. Furthermore, the author supports his argument by adding that parents of the students are too busy to teach their children to drive and they can not afford to send their children to driving schools. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three questions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author states about the increasing number of accidents involving teenagers around Centerville without any justifiable evidence about how many students of the Centerville high schools were involved in those accidents. There is a possibility that though the number of accidents increased over the past two years around Centerville, only 2 students of the school were injured. Maybe most of the teenagers who were involved in those accidents were not school students. Even if this is not the case, maybe there are other reasons such as poor road conditions and poor traffic management, behind the accidents. If any one of the above scenarios is true then the author’s argument holds no water. The author did not provide any admissible evidence regarding the cause of the accidents or how many teenagers in the school were affected by those accidents. If the author can provide more evidence regarding the other factors for the road accidents then, it will be possible to evaluate the author’s arguments to a certain extent.

Secondly, the author states that since the parents can not afford to pay for the driving schools, the schools should mandatory driving program for every student in the Centerville school without providing any necessitate evidence. A reader may raise questions about the necessity of the driving lessons or should driving lessons will be effective for the students. There is a possibility that most of the students reside 2 miles from the school and usually, they commute by bus. In that case, giving driving lessons will not be helpful at all and most parents may not agree with the idea that driving lesson is necessary for the safety of their children. Even if this is not the case, after learning driving there is no guarantee that students will drive carefully, in that case giving driving lesson may exacerbate the situation and will significantly hamper the student safety standards. If anyone of the above situation is true then the author’s argument is built unreliably. If the author is able to provide more evidence regarding parents' suggestions about the safety measure taken by the schools, the author may have strengthened his argument.

Thirdly, the author states that mandatory driving lesson is the only way to reduce accidents without any justifiable evidence. A reader may ask questions about the efficacy of the proposed solution. In other words, is providing driving lessons the only solution for reducing accidents? There is a possibility that after learning driving most of the students will drive recklessly and may cause more accidents in the near future. Maybe the traffic condition in the nearby area of Centeville is too bad for an apprentice student driver to drive safely. In that case, the author’s argument is seriously unwarranted. The author did not provide any justifiable evidence regarding the safety measures of the students after learning to drive. Perhaps providing a bus for commutating will be a more veritable solution against the increasing number of accidents involving teenagers. If the author provides more evidence perhaps in the form of a survey about the safety standards to rectify his argument, then it will strengthen the author’s argument.

In the conclusion, the author’s argument that stands now is seriously flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can answer the three questions above and offer more evidence(perhaps in the form of a systematic research study) then, it will be possible to evaluate the proposed recommendation that an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school will enhance the students' safety.