The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville All students should be required to take the driver s education course at Centerville High School In the past two years several accidents in and around Centerville have in

The person who wrote the letter believes that a mandatory driver's education course at Centerville High school will reduce the number of vehicle accidents in the area. They assume that the driving schools in Centerville are too costly for parents and that parents are generally too busy to teach their teenagers how to drive.

Although their point seems valid at a cursory glance, many other factors must be considered as well.

Firstly, the letter does not state at which magnitude teenage drivers are involved in the overall number of vehicular accidents in Centerville. If the number of teenage drivers involved in car accidents is insignificant such as 10% or 5% of total accidents, then a mandatory program at Centerville high school will not reduce the overall number of accidents and will not be a solution to the problem. Hence the magnitude in which teenage drivers are involved in these accidents should be considered.

Secondly, it is close-minded to assume that the implementation of a mandatory high school program is the only solution to the problem as there could be alternative solutions as well. It is good to identify the main cause of these accidents first. Is it due to the negligent behavior of drivers, or inexperience of drivers or is it due to something out of the drivers control such as the underdevelopment of roads, traffic lights, or pedestrian crossings ? If it is the latter, then the implementation of a program will not be a solution, the construction of new roads, and pedestrian crossings by the government will be a better solution.

Lastly, the letter also states that, “Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction”. It is good to identify the magnitude of parents that cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. If the majority of parents can afford it, then it is better for the high school to promote the driving instruction centers to students rather than produce a program that would be more costly and more time-consuming for the high school. They could perhaps use this money for more useful programs in the future. There is also a possibility of the program being more costly than the driving instruction centres as the highschool will have to bare costs such as hiring driving instructors and the costs of practical driving tests with students which will require a vehicle as well.

Hence all the above factors should be considered by the High school when making this decision.