The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director does have a fair and logical reason to come to that conclusion, however there are certain areas that need to be looked at further inorder to lead to a more accurate conclusion. For instance, the memo states that there are positive reveiws about "specific" super screen movies, this implies that only certain movies were given positive reviews. Hence, it would be ideal to identify which movies andthe number of movies that were given positive reviews and to identify how many reviews were given for each movie. This would tell us whether the positive review was given because of its high quality or because of the mere fact that the movie was a popular one at the time. For example, high demand movies such as "Spider-man : No way home" have huge fan bases and some individuals dont mind the quality of the movie as long as they get to see the content of the movie a.k.a "Spider-man".

Further, although the percentage of positive reviews increased the past year, it is essential to identify the percentage change of negative reviews to come to a conclusion as well. For example, if the total number of positive reviews did not outweigh the total number of negative reviews that were present last year, then it is not ideal to focus entirely on the increase in positive reviews.Hence the magnitude of both positive and negative reviews must be evaluated.

It is possible that an increase in adverstising will create a spread of public awareness of the movies. However, there are other extraneous variables that impact the customers decision in purchasing a ticket, for example, the price of ticket, their personal movie preferance, location of the Movie theatres.Hence there are many extraneous variables that need to be conscidered when coming to a conclusion.

Hence, I believe the comments made by the director are justifiable if all the above areas have been acknowledegd and clarified. If the conclusion is unfounded however, then further analysis must be done to come to a conclusion.