For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses Last year however all of the five best selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin Furthermore a recent surve

For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses

The shop owner believes that they can reduce their expenses by discontinuing stocking many of their varieties of important cheese. The assumption is that the preference for domestic cheeses is greater than the preference for imported cheese by consumers. Although this assumption and belief may seem logical at a cursory glance, there are many factors to consider before arriving to this conclusion.

The shop owner uses the recent survey by Cheeses of the world magazine to support her assumption that the liking for domestic cheese has increased. However, there are many factors to consider in this survey. Firstly, the sample size of its subscribers is not mentioned. This is important as the magnitude of subscribers that took part in this survey will have an impact on the validity of the study. The larger the number, the more generalizable the study will be. Further, this is a survey done by the world magazine and it does not mention where their subscribers are from, this is concerning as preferences for food items can change across individuals from different parts of the world. Further, the survey also states that there is an increasing preference for domestic cheeses, there is a possibility that what is considered "imported cheese" in the shop is considered as domestic cheese where it is produced. Consumers may not prefer a cheese purely because it is domestic. Other Factors such as quality, texture and price are considered as well.

Secondly, the shop owner argues that the fact that the five best-selling cheeses at their newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin could support her belief in discontinuing the storing of foreign cheese. However, this can be considered as fallacious as there are many factors to consider. For example, the owner states that the five best selling cheeses were domestic at their newest store. What about their old stores? It is not logical to completely discontiue imported cheeses in all stores if the five best selling cheeses were domestic solely at their newest store. For example, there are many factors to conscider such as the location of the store, the new store could be located in a less developed city, making it economically irrational for consumers to purchases foreign imports which are likely to be higher as opposed to consumers from more developed cities where they are able to afford imported cheese.

Lastly, it is not guaranteed that discontinuing imported cheese stocks in all the stores will improve profits in all of their stores for many reasons. Such as, what is the proportion of inventory cost compared to total costs? If the cost is generally less than any other cost, this is unlikely to improve profits.The shop owner should also consider the opportunity cost of discontinuing the imported cheese. As mentioned earlier, they must conscider the top 5 best selling cheese in all other stores as well. If there are imported cheeses among the top 5 best selling cheeses then discontinuing imported stocks will be costly to the shop.

Hence in conclusion, the shop owners' argument and belief can be considered fallacious and lacks proper analysis if other factors such as those mentioned above are not considered.