Claim Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted since it may well be proven false in the future Reason Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate Write a response in which you dis

Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based. 8:13

The author makes a bold claim that any information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted. The reason provided is quite insubstantial and could vehemently considered to be fallacious for many reasons. Prior to stating why this statement can be disagreed upon. Lets identify a few reasons why the author may have arrived at this claim. Perhaps it could be agreed upon if the source that states that the information is a fact is a invalid source which cannot be trusted. There have been many instances where a fact such as a medical fact can be considered to be proven false in the future due to reasons such as new discoveries that counteract the fact. For example, In the late 80's a popular medicinal drug was produced to mitigate the effects of morning sickness for pregnant mothers. The drug became widely known and popular over a short period and many pregnant mothers believed the medical facts that were mentioned regarding the drug. However, subsequently, this drug would end up being the main reason for a series of unfortunate events where children were born with the absence of limbs. Hence, subsequently, the fact that the drug was safe was counteracted. Hence, certain experiences can corroborate the author's claim to not trust facts. However, it is not cogent to assume all facts are not veracious.

It is not correct to blindly trust any information mentioned to you, however, it is equally as bad to dismiss and be dubious about all facts presented to you for the sole reason of it being fact. A rational and logical individual should have an open mind to analyze the analysis that bolsters the fact mentioned and trust or disagree according to the quality and validity of the analysis. If all individuals blindly mistrust facts, this will hinder the quality of life of individuals as it will act as a barrier to the development of innovation and discoveries. For example, certain fields of study are based on facts such as science fields, mathematics, history and many more. If institutions such as NASA (National Aeronautics and space administration) mistrust facts that have been stated by space engineers, they will not be able to create major groundbreaking discoveries such as identifying new planets and flying to Mars.

Further, the author states that her reason for her claim is that much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate. However, before making this claim, the magnitude of the number of instances a fact has turned out to be inaccurate should be identified. With the presence of constant development and innovation around all parts of the world, it is inevitable that a few facts discovered in the past could be realized to be untrue, it is a risk that all individuals will have to face. However, the degree of these facts being wrong in proportion to those to being considered as immutable forever should be considered.

In conclusion, I believe the author for the most part is incorrect and must re-evaluate all factors considered before making such claims.