The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I believe this statement is for the most part, correct. Although competition is necessary to a certain extent, the value of cooperation may outweigh it at times. Humans are naturally social creatures and we succeed the most when we work with each other, not against. By teaching our youth that cooperation is necessary, this will help individuals understand the importance of team work and healthy relationships.

True leaders know how to engage with their followers and make individuals feel valued in the work that they provide. For example, if we take a work place such as Apple Ltd. a leading tech company, one of the reason for their massive success and impressive customer brand loyalty that still remains today is due to the fact that the companys leader, Steve Jobs made sure to let the public know of their new product launches through seminars and campaigns. By enlightening his collegues and his customer base about his vision for Apple Technology, he was able to share his passion to his followers as well.

However, Just as much as humans are social creatures, I believe we are born with innate competitiveness as well. If all individuals entirely stopped being competitive this may prevent possible innovations that are yet to be seen. Our innate competitive drive has some perks as well. Most of the worlds existing innovations sprouted through competition in society.For example, Jeff Bezos, one of the most successful entrepreneuers of our time and founder of Amazon Ltd, would not have reached the same level of success if he did not have some competitive drive within him. His competitive drive to make Amazon one of the best online shopping sites could be conscidered a reason for the companys success.

In Conclusion, I personally believe that "too much of anything is not good" hence a reasonable level of both competition and cooperation should be instilled among young people in order to prepare them for any role of leadership.