The following memorandum is from the president of Primo Doll Manufacturing Inc According to a survey last year of parents who purchased the Elkie our most popular doll 90 percent reported that although their children were extremely satisfied with the doll

The president of the Primo Doll Manufacturing incorporation predicts that their profits will exceed their competitor, Optima Doll Manufacturing this year. The president believes that the creation of the Elkie-Advanced Doll using the high-quality materials their competitor uses will ensure that the doll will not wear out quickly with use. Although this assumption seems valid at a cursory glance, it can be deemed to be fallacious if other factors are not taken into consideration as well.

Firstly, the main issue mentioned by parents is that the doll lacks durability. It is not known whether the high-quality material used by Optima Doll Manufacturing will increase the durability of the doll. If it does not have any effect or impact on the durability of the doll, then this will not satisfy customers. Hence, customers will switch to other dolls. Hence the president must ensure that the high-quality material will have a positive impact on the durability of the doll.

In addition to that, the survey states that 90% of parents mentioned that’s their children were extremely satisfies with the doll’s features. However, the president mentions that the Elkie-Advanced Doll has similar features to the Elkie Doll. Which could mean that the features are similar but not the same. The president must make sure that the alteration of the doll's features will not have an impact on the demand for the doll. If that were the case, then the president’s prediction may be false or inaccurate as the demand for the doll will fall.

Lastly, it is bold for the president to assume that their profits will surpass the profits of its competitor as there are many other factors that should be considered before arriving at that conclusion. Such as the number of loyal customers in Optima Doll Manufacturing. To collaborate further, if Optima doll has a large percentage of loyal customers, then although its competitor has the same quality dolls as them the demand for their product will remain inelastic. Further, the materials may be indifferent among both shops however if there is a variation between the cost of the doll produced such that Primo Doll Manufacturing is more expensive, then rational consumers may decide to switch to the more cost-effective option.

Therefore, there are many factors that the president must take into consideration such as the above before arriving at a cogent conclusion.