The following memorandum is from the president of Primo Doll Manufacturing, Inc.

"According to a survey last year of parents who purchased the Elkie, our most popular doll, 90 percent reported that although their children were extremely satisfied with the doll's features, the doll quickly wore out with use. In a follow-up survey of the same parents, 80 percent reported that they would recommend a more durable version of the doll to their friends. In response to these surveys, we have created the Elkie-Advanced Doll, which has similar features to the original Elkie Doll but is manufactured using the same higher quality materials used by Optima Doll Manufacturing, our most successful competitor. Because parents can now purchase the beloved Elkie doll and be sure that it won't quickly wear out with use, we predict that our profits will exceed those of Optima Doll Manufacturing this year."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of the memorandum suggests that the profits of Primo Doll Manufacturing would exceed their competitor's profit because Primo Doll Manufacturing created Elkie-Advanced Doll. However, several questions need answering to evaluate the claim.

First of all, the memorandum states the Elkie doll won't quickly wear out with use. However, maybe their profits were from customer repurchase behavior of the original version doll? Perhaps when the doll wore out with use, those parents purchase new ones for their kids, so Primo Doll Manufacturing can earn some profit from consumer repurchase.

Secondly, the memorandum says the Elkie-Advanced Doll uses the same higher quality materials used by Optima Doll Manufacturing (Primo Doll manufacturing's competitor). Nevertheless, how about the costs? It is possible that Optima Doll got lower costs on their materials. So Optima Doll might still have a higher profit than Primo Doll does.

Citing the survey in this memorandum, the author claims that 80 percent of parents would recommend a more durable version of the doll to their friends. However, is the time factor considered in this conclusion? Maybe the parents' children are adults now, so they don't play with dolls anymore. And the new generation of kids is not that care about the durability of the dolls.

The author needs to answer the above questions to strengthen his or her argument.