The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the arguer, the high school should provide the driver's education course for teenage students in order to reduce traffic accidents in the town of Centerville. Although this argument seems to be logical at first glance, the arguer fails to prove the necessity of having such a driver course for the younger generation in high school in the context of many unwarranted assumptions.

Firstly, it is unfairly assumed that the high school should undertake the financial cost of opening such driver course. I believe that the parents of those young drivers just want to save money and are unwilling to pay for driver course instead of the lack of enough money, since the cost of each vehicle is not cheap. From my perspective, teenage drivers allowed to use their own or parents' cars should obtain drivers' licenses first. By doing so, they would obtain entire driver's training, such as learning traffic law.

Furthermore, it is confusing that the arguer declares that the teachers in high school are capable of teaching driver's education courses. Without the convincing data and explanation, it is inconceivable that the teachers can teach those students efficiently. In reality, it is better that the government should assign some skillful drivers, who have enough driving experience, to impart the driving lesson. Thus, if the arguer can provide some assumption that the high school can employ some experienced drivers to serve as teachers for driver's education course, I would be willing to encourage the younger generation to join the lesson.

Finally, even the aforementioned assumptions can be accepted and support the argument without any doubt, the argument merely relied on the assumption is unaccepted that parents are too busy to teach their children. From my perspective, teaching their children how to avoid dangerous accidents is an inevitable duty for all parents, which cannot be replaced by any school. If parents are unable to provide basic and essential skills to their young children, the new generation will fall into a lot of unnecessary troubles without enough assistance.unreasonable unreasonable unreasonable

Overall, it is unreasonable that the high school provides all driver's education courses and the parents just give up the associated duty.