According to an independent poll of 200 charitable organizations, overall donations of money to nonprofit groups increased last year, but educational institutions did not fare as well as other organizations. Donations to international aid groups increased the most (30 percent), followed by donations to environmental groups (23 percent), whereas donations to educational institutions actually decreased slightly (3 percent). Meanwhile, all of the major economic indicators suggest that consumer spending is higher than average this year, showing that potential donors have ample disposable income. Therefore, the clearest explanation for the decline in donations to educational institutions is that people actually value education less than they did in the past.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument outlined above hypothesizes that the decline in donations to educational institutions in the aforementioned poll is due to a decrease in the value placed on education by potential donors. This assumption is based on the fact that donations to other groups have increased in contrast, as well as consumer spending, which demonstrates that potential donors have enough to donate. While this argument may seem sound at first glance, it is an overall specious argument which requires further evidence to be strengthened.

Firstly, just because consumer spending increased does not mean patrons had more money available to donate. They may be going into debt buying items on impulse, or buying what they consider essentials such as beauty products. To assume total donations will increase simply because disposable income increased is fallacious. The author could have possibly supported this with another survey of consumer donation habits instead of simply relying on the fact that consumer spending increased.

In addition, the author makes no mention of the actual numbers of donors. Instead, the author refers to changes in donations through percentages. However, just because the percent donated to an organization increased doesn’t mean the number of donors increased. Instead, there could be more donors contributing less money because maybe they have less to give. So when the percent of donations to education decreased, maybe the number of donors actually increased, just with smaller donations. It is therefore presumptuous to assume that education is overall less valued when it may in fact be valued by more individuals today. The author should have bolstered this evidence by providing the change in actual numbers of donors.

Finally, the scope of the mentioned survey must be called into question. The author states the poll included 200 organizations. However, the author makes no indication of where these organizations were located and how many other organizations are in the same area which were excluded. It is not unfathomable to assume that many of these excluded organizations could have been educational institutions. Therefore, excluding these organizations may have artificially dragged down the total amount donated to this category of institutions in the survey. Maybe these institutions which were excluded received far more donations than those in the poll. The author should have provided the location of the survey and a clear explanation for the sample size, or cited a survey with a larger sample size.

In conclusion, the specified argument is rich with flaws. Not only is the correlation between disposable income and donations weak, but the author fails to provide justification for crucial information in the survey cited such as the actual number of donors included as well as the scope and location of the survey. These issues must be resolved before the author’s conclusion can be accepted as valid.