Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

In today’s world, scandals are never few or far between. With these scandals, however, comes the opportunity to draw the attention of the masses to a problem at large which may have skirted the thoughts and eyes of many. Historically, peaceful protests may also effectively provoke the attention of the population. However, ultimately scandals are more useful at directing the attention of individuals oblivious to a problem at large.

Bad news is notorious for traveling at the speed of light, but in this new technologically sophisticated era it travels even faster. The news of a captivating scandal can easily draw the attention of millions. For example, the news of Harvey Weinstein’s nefarious acts with countless young actresses sparked somewhat of a revolution against those who had taken advantage of younger women at one time, united under the ubiquitous Twitter hashtag “me too”. News of these allegations disseminated rapidly, and drew the attention of the world to a problem which had previously festered in the shadows.

In addition, political leaders may feel more of a responsibility to address scandalous acts than simple reformers or speakers. For example, the recent outbursts of police brutality including the murder of George Floyd have culminated in reforms to the police departments in many states and cities in the U.S. Without the shock of such detestable scandals, such decisive action might have never been taken.

However, while scandals are effective, protests can also incite change. For example, Martin Luther King Junior’s creed of “civil disobedience” were integral in the fight for civil rights in the 1960s, without which African Americans may not be where they are today. However, it is undeniable that disgraceful acts such as the shameless murder of George Floyd can quickly ignite visceral anger and a desire for change in the hearts of countless Americans. Organized protests often undoubtedly pale in comparison to the emotional response stirred in the hearts of the masses by a sordid scandal.

In conclusion, both reformers and scandals play a role in bringing problems to light. Reformers such as Martin Luther King Jr. have spurred great progress towards solving deep seated problems such as racism. Scandals can also draw the attention of the masses rapidly such as the acts of Harvey Weinstein. However, on balance scandals are often more effective than reformers because they instill a greater desire for change through a visceral emotional response in the hearts and minds of the masses.