Though often considered an objective pursuit, learning about the historical past requires creativity since because we can never know the past directly, we must reconstruct it by imaginatively interpreting historical accounts, documents, and artifacts

Throughout our education, history is lectured as a string of highly objective facts. It is presented as being the undeniable truth based on historical accounts, documents, and artifacts. However, despite this conception, developing a rich understanding of the past ultimately requires more than a modicum of creativity.

The most blatant case for the the use of creativity while studying history is through interpretation of historical art. Without interviewing the original artists themselves, it is nearly impossible to discern the intended meaning from some of the most ingenious works of art throughout history. Take, for example, the abstract wonders of Picasso. While his works may be intensely evocative, it is difficult to ever know if the viewer is experiencing the art how the artist intended. The true meaning behind his works is left to the power of the imagination.

Another aspect of history that is highly interpretive is the lives of every day people. Of course, there are many detailed accounts of the past, even some in the form of diaries or journals. However, is it really possible to step into the heart and mind of someone from ancient Rome just based on subjective artifacts? Is it really possible to understand the utter terror felt by Polish Jews in concentration camps just by reading the writings of Anne Frank? Such emotionally charged experiences are impossible to feel just by examining documents under a lamp. To make these works come alive and to feel what these poor desolate souls must have felt requires empathy and imagination.

However, some aspects of history can be very objective. For example, simple facts such as which laws were passed when and why can easily be determined without much creative thought. In addition, simple historical facts such as what year Columbus discovered America can easily be discerned from historical documents. However, when documents and artifacts are discovered from thousands of years ago it undeniably takes creativity to piece their story together. Say for example historians discover a new Egyptian tool. They may not have the faintest idea what it was used for, and therefore it may require much creative problem solving to deduce the purpose for such an object. So clearly, creativity is once again required to interpret history.

In conclusion, despite having access to historical accounts, documents, and artifacts, history will always require creativity to be interpreted. The words on a page can never be enough to truly allow us to experience how some of the great historical figures felt as they lived and died. The strokes of a brush on a canvas will also always be up to speculation without the explanation of the original author. And finally, tools so arcane and obsolete that they are utterly confounding will always require creativity to discern their purpose.