Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

This statement has both its merits as well as its demerits. In a practical sense, there is a kernel of truth behind these words in that as a student, you are paying an educational institution to provide you with a service; that service being to provide you with the best guidance and educational foundation possible in order to enjoy a prosperous career path. However, overall this statement that an institution should dissuade students in any way simply based on the assumption that they won’t find success is fallacious.

First and foremost, it is difficult to quantify success itself. When observing a pianist for example, one may conclude that they are the very definition of unsuccessful since they spend their nights playing jazz piano in bars, pandering to the requests of onlookers and seemingly cadging for tips. However, in the eyes of the pianist they may be successful beyond their wildest dreams. They have found a way to make their hobby their profession. To the pianist, he may feel he has never worked a day in his life, and considers himself the epitome of success. But if he had listened to his advisors in high school and college, they may have advised against this career path because it is not lucrative and hence “unsuccessful” in their eyes.

Compounding upon this point, the duty of an educational advisor should be to cultivate passion and not success. This same pianist may have had the aptitude to become an extraordinary investment banker, but may have hated every day he spent in his corporate office. Once again, paying for an education is paying for a service, and it would be a disservice to any student to discourage them from following their passion for the sake of financial success.

However, educational institutions have access to more resources than the individual. Due to this fact, their advice does hold some significant weight. An educational institution is a sprawling network of educators and professionals with a collective abundance of knowledge about many different career paths and job outlooks. Perhaps an advisor in the department of music plays jazz piano as well, and knows that there is a declining demand for it in that area. In this instance, the advice of the educational institution would be valuable in persuading students away from potential failure.

However, ultimately even this advice may not withstand the passage of time. When the aspiring pianist graduates, the job market may have changed, and jazz pianists may be of tremendous value. No matter how well-informed the advice from advisors may be, even they cannot tell the future. So succinctly, educational institutions should not dissuade students from entering fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. While supportive advice is included in the service that students pay institutions for, this advice may not stand the test of time, no matter how well-intended it may be. In addition, students should define success for themselves instead of letting educational advisors define it for them, and follow their true passion. To dissuade any student from their passion on the grounds that they may not succeed based on a contrived definition of success would be a disservice to any student.