In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions

According to Malcom Gladwell, it takes a practitioner 10,000 hours to become well versed in a field. These thousands of hours can well equip anyone with the tools to potentially provide important contributions to their field. While it may be true that beginners in the same field may have innovative new ideas, ultimately the pathway of progress will be paved by the experts.

If an individual aspires to make great strides in their field, there is no way to circumvent the hours of studying and practicing which builds experience. Without this investment, one will always fall behind the experts who have devoted their lives to making contributions in the same field. For example, Thomas Edison tried over 1,000 different light bulbs before he struck success. A beginner, with no knowledge at all of what has worked so far and what hasn’t surely would not have been able to show up while Edison was on his 500th light bulb and produced a viable product. Even with the proper training, only incredible genius can avoid the travail of trial and error.

In addition, some fields are so complex that failure to produce results could simply be due to unrefined technique. For example, in biopharmaceuticals, the smallest miscalculation or slip of the hand can lead to sample contamination and the failure of an entire experiment which may have been a success in the steadier hands of an expert. No matter how extraordinary the young researcher might be, if they haven’t put in the dedication to enhance their technique, their success will pale in comparison to that of a senior scientist.

However, it may be possible that a beginner may have more of an open mind. For example, if a business is having trouble marketing a new product, a young M.B.A. graduate might inject newfound creativity into the project and lead the team to success. However, acting on his own, the young executive may not have had the resources to reach success. It may have been only due to the extensive network of connections and capital supplied by the senior executives that allowed the project to find the success it did. Succinctly, while the innovative ideas of beginners are undoubtedly important, they may not have been made possible without the skills and resources of the inveterate experts.

In conclusion, while beginners may possess fresh and creative ideas, the experts in any field will ultimately make more contributions. These experts have the benefit of not only more experience through trial and error and superior technical training, but the resources to execute their ideas. While the best results are achieved through the synergy of a novice and a veteran, an individual expert will have a much greater chance at success than an individual neophyte.