Several years ago, Groveton College adopted an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Such evidence suggests that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's. This change is sure to result in a dramatic decline in cheating among college students.

The author of this argument champions the new honor code at Groveton College. As evidence, the author cites that the total cases of cheating reported has dropped since the code was enacted. In addition, the author cites a survey in which students claimed that they are less likely to cheat with the code in place than under the previous system. As a result, the author suggests that this code be implemented in other colleges. However, before this recommendation should be implemented, several outstanding questions must be addressed.

First and foremost, the author describes how the number of cases of cheating dropped from thirty to twenty-one the first year after the code was put into effect. However, how big was the total class size the second year? Proportionally, this figure of twenty-one may represent the same portion of the new class as the previous figure of thirty did for the previous class, as the new year’s class may be of a significantly bigger size. Without this information of actual percentages of the classes caught cheating, the figures provided are too insignificant to bolster the author’s argument.

Compounding on this point, further figures must be provided to strengthen the data cited by the author. He/she states that cases of cheating declined in the first year the policy was in effect and the fifth year, but what about the years in between? Two out of five years only describes a minority of the years the program was in effect, not the majority, These two successful years may represent an overly optimistic minority, whereas the other years may have represented complete failures in which the cases of cheating actually increased. The data of these missing years is therefore integral to the author’s argument, and must be included in order for the author’s thesis to be justified.

Finally, the author relies heavily on a survey conducted among the students of Groveton, in which they claim the honor code is more effective at guarding against cheating. However, how inclined are to take their word for it? It is in the fraternal spirit of students to help each other as opposed to helping their professors. Students may be colluding and neglecting to mention cases of cheating when they see it. Simply relying on the fact that they say cheating has decreased would be a hasty decision. Instead, the provided survey should be supplemented with a similar survey of the teachers, in which they report the effectiveness of the new code according to their observations. Simply relying on the observations of the students leaves the author’s weak.

Conclusively, the author’s argument that the new honor code at Groveton College proves specious. While the author cites figures regarding how the number of cheating cases has declined the year following its enactment as well as five years after, this evidence must be supported with the percent of the class caught cheating, not just total cases since the class size may have increased and cases may be proportionally the same. In addition, the author only cites the case numbers from two years, not from each of the five years. In order for these figures to be useful supporting data, figures from the additional years must be included. Finally, it is not sufficient to rely on a survey conducted among students regarding the code’s effectiveness when it is in their best interests to support a code in which it is easier for cheating to go unreported. Instead, the author should further support this claim with another survey among teachers. In summary, the author’s argument will only prove valid once these issues are addressed and resolved.