Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed

Today, it is widely accepted that students attend a university to enhance their education in a certain field of study in order to hone their skills in hopes that they will secure a suitable job following their graduation and enjoy a prosperous career. To facilitate this process, educational institutions may advise students to pursue certain fields in which they may most likely succeed so that they can enjoy a prosperous career. However, this logic is fallacious due primarily to the fact that financial success isn’t the only indicator of ultimate success or happiness.

First of all, students should be able to exercise their free will of choosing a course of study which best fits their interests. Pursuing a field of study which a student detests only invites future unhappiness and regret. As the philosopher Alan Watts has claimed, there is no point in living to earn money a job you despise so that you may live and keep working at a job you despise. Happiness often supersedes financial success, and to deprive yourself of happiness for the sake of financial success would be an abject personal injustice. Instead, a better course of action would be to pursue your interests first a foremost, and to advise against that would be a disservice committed by the educational institution.

Furthermore, to goad you into a particular course of study due to the promise of success is a somewhat vague task. Presumably, the institution would be seeking to enhance primarily your financial success since that is the most tangible and obvious form of success. However, financial success may preclude other forms of success which may be more rewarding. For example, if an individual would abandon their pursuit of becoming a famous actress for the sake of a financially stable accounting job at the suggestion of her educational institution, she may be abandoning the rewards of successfully performing in front of an audience and the recognition of artistic success.

However, it cannot be overlooked that educational institutions have a responsibility to guide students to the best of their ability. As a college student, you willingly surrender thousands of dollars to an institution in hopes of a bright future. This investment would be squandered if the institution didn’t utilize their experience and knowledge of the job market and personal skills to best advise every student. However, even large institutions can’t predict the future, and their expert advice may prove useless a few years after graduation when suddenly recent grads are grappling in a changing job market.

In conclusion, while educational institutions may have the best interests of their students in mind when they advise them to chose specific courses of study, this logic may prove specious. A bright young individual may enjoy financial success and stability, but at the cost of their own aspirations, and the job market may even change so that their stable, successful job is no longer stable, leaving college grads poor, wistful, and unhappy.