The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Human history is flush with rebellion and dissent. The world as we know it today was created in many respects by the brave mavericks who questioned the authority of their time. When these dissidents are victorious in the fight for their grievances, authority is forced to concede or be overthrown. It is these watershed moments that truly shape history forever.

Take the American colonists in 1776 as a prime example. When faced with the oppression of the British monarchy, they did not remain indolent and passively submit to the tyranny they were subject to. Instead, they united together and fought for their independence. If they didn’t have the courage to fight back against an oppressive authority, colonists across the 13 colonies would still have been subject to the egregious taxes and whims of the monarchy. This dissension was not only beneficial then, but helped establish one of the most powerful and prosperous countries in the world today which fights to maintain peace and order throughout the world.

However, dissension is not always beneficial. Take for example, the Communist Revolution in Russia in the early 20th century. While overthrowing the czar and his government was intended to provide equality and prosperity among the the impoverished proletariat, it instead brought more poverty. The governments of Lenin and Stalin later proved to be possibly more oppressive than the previous rule. Not only was the Russian Communist revolution far from the improvement it had promised the Russian people, but actually a tragic step backwards from the rule of the czar.

Further expanding on the failures of the Communist revolution, no class in society was safe. Lenin and the other Communist leaders promised justice for the working class, but at the expense of the middle and upper classes. In fact, anyone with even an iota of wealth was executed upon the Communists coming to power. Clearly, in this case rebellion against an oppressive authority was good for no level of society.

Finally, even in a civilized democratic nation such as the United States dissent is not always what is best for society. Take for example, the recent issue of COVID-19. As new research was being conducted and new regulations were being enacted based on that, these regulations were being violently protested all across America. Not only did this prevent the virus from being contained, but may have in fact caused it to spread at a more rapid rate. When decisive action is required, inciting protest may not be the best idea for society.

In conclusion, dissent against authority has its time and place. Certainly, throughout history it has been necessary to oppose tyrannic rule such as the American Revolution. However, in some historical cases such as the Communist Russian Rebellion, it has produced drastic results. Considering this, and the fact that rebellion sometimes precludes decisive action when necessary, questioning authority negatively impacts the well-being of society overall.