Some people believe that the most important qualities of an effective teacher are understanding and empathy. Others believe that it is more important for teachers to be rigorous and demanding in their expectations for students

The childhood experience of a harsh teacher is a ubiquitous one. Striking the balance between treating students with understanding and empathy while setting high expectations and issuing a heavy workload must undoubtedly be difficult for teachers. Setting the bar high for students has the benefits of challenging students and preparing them for future studies. However, ultimately it is better for educators to adopt a dogma of understanding and empathy when working with students.

In today’s world especially, students must face a plethora of difficult situations outside of class which will detract from their learning. For example, a young child may one day be thrust into the midst of an ugly divorce and have to learn how to cope with such a previously foreign situation while still managing to precariously balance studying and a social life. Such a task must be incredibly daunting for such a fledgling child, and for an educator to not be able to sympathize with such a child would be a grave injustice. Clearly, an austere and demanding teacher would be the last thing this student could need to further add to his emotional burden.

Additionally, in any classroom, an instructor must deal with a diverse assembly of students. They may come from any number of different cultural backgrounds, and may approach learning in disparate ways. Furthermore, they may possess vastly different intellects, or may even be weighed down by the hardship of a developmental disorder. In such circumstances, such a variety of students may not be able to handle the rigorous work load and high standards of a strict instructor. Surely, to deal with such variation between students, a more understanding and empathetic approach would help every student glean the most knowledge out of the class.

However, a teacher with high expectations does have some merits. An intense course load would help prepare students for future course where the work load will be inherently more difficult. In addition, high expectations will push students beyond their conceived limits and may allow them to reach academic or intellectual achievements they never thought were possible. However, the ultimate goal of a teacher should be not only to push their students past their limits, but to cultivate within each student a passion and drive to learn more. Then they may be able to open their books with alacrity and not feel the dread of working to appease a stern professor. Clearly, if a teacher wants to nurture a lust for learning in their students, they should adopt a more empathetic and kind approach to teaching.

In conclusion, both of these polar opposite teaching styles have their benefits, although one reigns superior. While educating through the implementation of great expectations and a heavy work load can challenge students and better prepare them for future course work, a more compassionate and understanding teacher can better accommodate the diverse needs of their students and the situations and challenges they may face. Conclusively, a kinder and more nurturing demeanor encourages students to fully embrace their studying and love what they learn.