To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The world today is rich with a plethora of societies. In addition, many cities within these societies are prospering and growing more than ever before. Within a society, major cities are often centers of culture, education, and business. However, it is a generalization to state that the most important characteristics of a society can be ascertained simply by studying its major cities.

First and foremost, not every culture may be centered around lush, bustling metropoli. For example, although China boasts several massive cities such as Shanghai, much of its culture is still agrarian. Waking up every day and tending to the duties of a rice farm is clearly a drastically different lifestyle for a Chinese farmer than waking up every day to a commute into a crowded city surrounded by Chinese businessmen and working in a towering highrise as an accountant. Looking solely at life within a large city such as Shanghai would leave the farmer completely out of the picture. These farmers do not only make up a large portion of China, but many other nations as well, such as the U.S. and Canada, not to mention countless other underdeveloped or developing countries. Clearly, neglecting life outside of major cities would provide a narrow view of a society.

In addition to rural areas, focusing purely on major cities also eliminates the population residing in many smaller cities. The lifestyle of an individual living in one of these smaller cities may vary considerably from that of someone living in a major city. For example, to study the the society of Rhode Island, observing major cities may only lead to studying the capital city of Providence. However, Rhode Island contains an abundance of smaller cities that make up a large part of the population. An individual living in a quiet town such as Coventry may live a very different life compared to someone living in Providence. While not completely agrarian, the life of someone working as a carpenter and owning their own modest house is a different lifestyle than a businessman living in a cramped apartment in Providence. Therefore, analyzing only major cities once again neglects a large part of the population living in the depths of suburbia.

It is true that many major cities such as Paris or New York City are the centers of culture, education, and business. Much of French culture is preserved in the magnificent museums of Paris such as the Louvre; while in cities like New York City, music and theater stay alive in institutions such as Juliard. However, many important movements grew away from the aura of major cities. For example, the traditions of blues in America have their roots in the work songs of Aftican slaves. Blues was born not a major city like New York or Boston, but in the vast plantations on which salves worked. Clearly, studying only major cities ignores this rich movement in American history.

In conclusion, it is a fallacy that studying a society’s major cities reveals its most important characteristics. Especially in developing nations such as China or even developed societies like the U.S., many citizens live a bucolic lifestyle, which differs greatly from the fast pace of city life. In addition, focusing on major cities neglects the lifestyle of minor cities, which again differs from the bustle of city life and play an integral part in many societies. Finally, although major cities are responsible for many cultural developments, studying only major cities neglects many historical movements such as the blues. Undoubtably, it is an oversight to purely focus on major cities when examining a socities’ essential characteristics.