In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University

of Waymarsh, most respondents said they preferred literary classics as reading

material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that

the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in

Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the

respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading preferences.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and

what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the above memo, the author argues that the respondents in the first study misrepresented their reading preferences as literary classics. The author supports his argument based on the premise that most of the checked-out books in the library were mystery novels, However, before evaluating the author’s argument three unstated assumptions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author argues that most respondents to the survey said that they prefer literary classics as reading material without providing any necessitate evidence regarding the authenticity of the survey. There is a possibility that only 100 people responded to that survey. Then, concluding something based on a very small sample size is seriously unwarranted and one can not argue that most people prefer literary classics as their reading metrical. If the author is able to provide more admissible evidence perhaps in the form of a frequency distribution of each preferable genre of the participants then it will be possible to evaluate the author’s argument to a certain extent.

Secondly, the author argues that the second study of each of the public libraries reveals that most of the checked-out books are mystery novels without providing any information about the authenticity of the study. Perhaps most of the public libraries in Waymarsh city do not have a vast collection of books of literary classics. Moreover, maybe most respondents in the first study borrow books from the internet instead of visiting a public library. Then one can not argue that people do not like to read books of literary classics. If any one of the above scenarios is true then the author’s argument holds no water. If the author is able to provide more information perhaps in a form of a statistical data chart of the collection of books in public libraries then the author’s argument will strengthen.

Thirdly, the author concludes that since the most checked-out books in each public library were mystery novels, people in the first study were not veracity about their responses. There is a feasibility that those people who responded to the survey do not often visit the public library. Maybe most of them visit the nearby university library then one cannot argue that people in the first study misrepresented their response. The author has to provide more legitimate evidence regarding the respondents to the first study perhaps in a form of a systematic research study of their source of reading materials to rectify his argument otherwise, the author’s argument holds no water.

In the conclusion, the author’s argument is seriously flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can elucidate the three unstated assumptions above and offer more evidence perhaps in the form of a systematic research study then it will be possible to evaluate the proposed recommendation that people in the first study misrepresented their respondents regarding their reading preferences.