Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In the present world, we live in a democratic society where everyone has their own rights. Every people in our society has a duty placed on them to make their society more developed for future generations. In order to develop society, sometimes we have to emphasize the problems that may bring deleterious effects on future generations. The above prompt sets out that scandals are useful since they attract our attention in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could. While I concede the fact that scandals are not that much of useful for dragging our attention, in my opinion, I mostly agree that scandals are useful to drag our attention on certain problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

To begin, Scandals are one form of exposure to the problems in front of society, which indicates where should we strike in order to dwindle the problems. Sometimes, people can not foresight the components of the problems but after any scandals, people can significantly understand the futility of the problem. For example, people thought the corruption in the city is only limited to the small private sectors but a recent scandal of receiving bribes involving many high-ranking government officials exposed that corruption is not only limited to private sectors but also deep-rooted in the government. The above example illustrates that sometimes scandals are more effective for bringing the problems into the light which a speaker or reformer could not have augured. Scandals are indications of society that all is not well. Sometimes scandals bring peoples’ attention to the problems and for that people can take necessary steps in order to mitigate the problem.

Furthermore, sometimes people are unable to judge the severity of a problem from their own perspective. Scandals are one of the prime indicators of the problem, after which the austerity of the problem is conspicuous to the people. For example, in the mid-1900s, everyone knew that opium is detrimental to people's health but the severity of the drug abuse was not patent to normal people. During the Vietnam War opium was accessible to every teenager in the major cities of the United States and after a major drug bust, people came to know the severity of the problem. The above example illustrates that scandals are meant to draw our attention to the bleak problems, which are embedded into our society and the predicaments to deal with them. On the other hand, some problems though predicted severe in nature by some of the reformers, could not measure the severity of the problems in the way scandals reveal them. Through scandals, people can take precaution to avert future catastrophes after knowing to what extent the problem affect our society.

However, one can not say all scandals are meant to draw our attention to the problems for the greater good. Sometimes people use scandals to harm certain people’s image and to spread misinformation. In the age of the internet propagating something is not a difficult job but people can not decide whether the information is true or false. Moreover, people do not take pain to verify whether the information is authentic or not. Often some people use this for their personal gain. Let's take an example, to promulgate their medicine certain company spreads that the rival companies cheap medicine cause heart disease which causes widespread protest to ban the rival company, resulting dearth of the availability of cheap medicine to the general population. This example illustrates that sometimes scandals are not good for the greater good furthermore it causes rampant misconceptions, thus impeding the progress of a society.

Despite these reasons, scandals sometimes brought unwarranted chaos has it merit such as spending widespread misinformation but such disadvantages are overshadowed by the potential advantages which are far more remunerative in nature. Thus emphasizing the problems which are brought about by the scandals after verifying the mendacity of the problem is advisable.