The following appeared in a health magazine.

"The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The appearance in a health magazine regarding the citizens of Forsythe which have adopted more healthful lifestyles. The facts that are presented by arguer is as follows: Firstly, the citizens of Forsythe responses to a recent survey show that they have similar nutrition plans as similar as supported by government nutritional than they had ten years ago. Secondly, the arguer presents an increase in sales of food products containing kiran by four fold that a scientific study has shown which reduces cholesterol. Thirdly, the arguer has presented the consequences of increase sales of kiran that has reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the healthiest citizens regularly eat. This argument at close scrutiny reveals loop holes and a complete evidences need to be presented in order to make an argument valid.

Firstly, the arguer presents the result of the responses of a recent survey which shows that the citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles by conforming more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. However, the arguer fails to provide the authentic of the survey source. Either it is published by a popular media or presented only by a local group. It fails to provide the relevant data regarding the survey as at which age groups do the survey respond. It may be either young or old people who responded to a survey. It may be possible that the people who participate in the survey are actually health conscious people who focus most of their time on preserving their health conditions. Thus, the results of the survey mostly identify the different groups of people and at what number does the people participate to a survey.

Secondly, the arguer presents an increase in sales of food products which contains kiran by four times and the role of kiran in controlling cholesterol level. However, the argument fails to provide any relevant information regarding the increase in sales of food products containing kiran by implementing government nutritional recommendations. It also fails to provide any pertinent information how the use of kiran containing food generally controls cholesterol in the body. It may be possible that the food sources containing kiran generally behold fibers which reduces fat in the body and overall control the cholesterol. It may be possible that the increase in sales of food containing kiran is the result of tv program which declaim the controlling of cholesterol by kiran without any factual information. Thus, the decrease in cholesterol by consuming the food products containing kiran is irrelevant without any scientific evident.

Thirdly, the arguer presents a trend which reduces sales of sulia with the increase in kiran containing food. However, the argument fails to provide any relevant information showing relation between sulia and food containing kiran. It may be possible that the people generally hate sulia due to its irrelevant taste and only people who are deeply conscious with their health regularly eat it. It may be possible that the price of sulia is very high in comparison to food containing kiran and only rich people can consider it. It may be likely that the doctor recommends sulia due to its high fiber contains and only people who practice gym harshly and regularly can have it. Thus, the decrease in sales of sulia is unknown. Either it is connected with the kiran containing food or irrelevant with its content.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is full of unwarranted assumptions due to lack of supportive evidences in favor of citizens of Forsythe who have adopted healthful lifestyles. In order to make argument valid, it should be supported in favor of foods containing kiran which actually decreases the cholesterol level and the relation between the increase in sales of kiran and decrease of food containing sulia.