The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The prompt suggests the idea to reduce the working shifts of the Quiot Manufacturing in order to upshot more productivity also with lesser amount of casualities. Although, smattering of logical reasoning have been provided by the author, there are many logical flaws in the premises underlie the argument. The conjectures are mentioned here in the below followed by necessary clarifications.

To begin with - the vice-president assumed that three shifts of work are actually causing the fatigue and sleep deprivation of the workers and thus resulting in more casualities than nearby Panoply Plants. This might be the case - according to the experts, however, might not be. The experts have said that fatigue and sleep deprivation are contributing factors for many on the job accidents but they did not take line that - "more than three hours of working shifts will cause fatigue or sleep deprivation". Or even if that is the case - the prompt has not provided any sufficient evidence of this. If the three hours of work shifts is actually causing the fatigue of the workers then the assumptions of the vice president is not faux. But what if it turned out the other case and later found out that most of the accidents are actually the result of capriciousness of the workers. So, it might not be a bad thing to question the idea of the vice-president to reduce the working shifts in order to reduce accidents and increase productivity.

Coming to the second one - the vice-president has compared the working hours of the Panoply Industries plant with those of the Quiot Mnaufacturing and has drawn an analogy to reduce the working hours of the shifts to lessen the on the job accidents. It might not be bad idea to deduce the conclusion from there, however, the vice-president is actually missing several pertinent points and factors related to this disparage, such as - the working capability of the workers, the surrounding environments, seriousness of the workers, providential facilities and mental conditions of the workers and so on. These are very very important factos to invlove in any influence of the on the job type of accidents. May be the workers of Panoply plants are much more efficient than those of the Quiot Manufacturing and as a result are doing the same amount of work or even more wihtin a less amount of time. May be the surrounding of the work palce is so comfitting for the workers that they can work on their jobs more closely and with great care compared to that of Quiot Manfacturing, where, in possible case - the workers do not get befitting palce for their jobs. Apart from these, the behavior of the higher official of the Panoply plants industries are so elegent that the workers are much more motivated to complete their sessions within time slots and thus conduce better outcome than Quiot. Similar cases might be arised if the speculation is done more closely, however in this case, the vice-president has gone superficially in deducing conclusion.

Also it is irony of the vice-president ot think that reduction of the working hours will conduct to bourgeois in productivity. Although it can be considered that lessening working hours will actually help to reduce the on the job accidents, it can be deduced similarly for the productivity. What if the workers are not motivated still after even reduction in their working hours? What if they take the advantage of this decision and try to exploit this for their comfort by doing less works and demanding more remission? These cases acan not be write off straughway as there is no sufficient regarding he psyche of the workers of the Quiot Mnaufacuring. If the workers are not about to do these kind of activites then there will be obvious rise in producitvity. But if it turned otherwise then it might take the industry into dogs!

So, looking at all the points and critical remakrs aforementioned, it might be too early to deduct any certain conclusion from the evidences presented in the promtps. In order to get more realistic and insightful views and remarks, the prompt needs to be reviewed with more related evidences and answers of the questions asked in the essay - and thus it will be safe to come to a certain conclusion.