Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The prompt urges the government not to take fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear. For some obvious reasons I would like to be "mostly disgaree" with the given concept and hereby obliged to provide necessary viewpoints in defense of my position.

In the are of research there is hardly any specific answer of the question "what is the clarity of this research outcome". It is because of no matter how much one is preknowledgable about his contemporary research he or she will still is still vulnerable to do something else than he or she premeditated. This is not actually the fault of that individual rather it is the nature of scientific research. Science has always been the subject of vulnerablity and changes according to the new evidences. For example - previously it was belived that the sun actually mopving round the sun. But after the acknowledgement of many facts it has come into believed that the earth rounds the sun in actual case. So, it is pretty much obvious that science will be subjected to change along with the new evidences and facts discovered by scientists. Therefore in most cases, scientists do not have the clear picture of the outcome, nevertheless, they can specualte certain of those cases. However, does this vulnerability from the science is meant to stop fund from the government ? Obviously no. It is because - about most research cases the outcomes are vague and if the governemtn continues to preculde fund for all those then scientific arena will never be developed as there will be no chance of innovation. Scientists are provided fund and they are ascribed certain amount of time within which they has to come to a conclusion about that research subject. Scientist works that certain topics getting help by the fund provided by the government. If the fund is not sufficient or is not at all then they (scientist) will not be able exploit many matters of their interest and consequently there will be no usher of evolvement. That is why, stopping fund based on the ambiguety of a scientific research will not be a good idea.

Also, interesting fact is that - it has been seen in many cases that the respective scientist who has been conducting research of one arena, has become successful in inventing a new phenomena. For example - a chemist who has largely been wokring on the polymer chain formation might be able to invent something about the other characteristics of the polymer - but not the chain formation. Also, it can be the case that - he even did not find anything new about the polymer at all, rather has surprised himself with the innovation of other characteristics of materials - kind of universal one. Now, will he not be credited with the innovation for finding a new outcome. Of course he will be although it was not his intended programe, he has been successful to provide human being with something new. So, if the governement does not fund this type of scientific research then it is actually precluding not only the possiblity of a new innovation but also the chances of other revolutionary findings as well. Only based on the probability of the outcome the funding decision should not be made as the outcome will fluctuate - in many cases it will be failed one, but one successful one is tantamount to the numerous failed one.

Even with the vagueness of scientific research, the possiblity can be judged in somewhat generally. For example - in the conspicuous cases, such as - helping the humanity to be immortal - is a kind of impossible task, or the idea of escaping death might not be sound enough to secure sufficient fund from the government. This is becasue most of these ideasare absolute truth and no exemplary research can turn it down to be false. Now, if the government funds lavishly for this impossible project then it might not be withstant to the outcome as the upshot will always be failure. Another case is that - the government should provide fund regarding tough research works or in least regarding a more daunting resarching fund - should prioritize the researcher or the instituitions or the background of the researcehr. It is important because it is more plausible to get a good outcome from an experienced resrarcher even regarding a tough topic rather than from a relatively new researcher regarding a easy topic attributing to their expereicne and work history. Although there will always be some anomaly, nevertheless, the government shoudl take more mature decision regarding funding most of those topics.

So, looking at all the points and views mentioned above, it is not recommended that the government should stop fund depending on the clarity of the outcome of the scientific researchs. Rather it is suggested to take more balanced and cautious measures to fund those scientific projects.